something fishy: rebecca’s guest post

(this week is beyond busy for me, so i won’t be around much aside from a few pre-written posts. however, i am delighted to share with you the thoughts of some fantastic ottawa women. these ladies know a thing or two about food in the area. today, i am featuring rebecca of bit of momsense! i’m super excited for her post because, you see, my husband does not eat fish. but, i happen to love fish. and so, i never quite know how to prepare it. i can’t wait to give this a try one night this fall!)

I am honoured to be jumping here to Kaitlin’s blog! I realize that Kaitlin and I share a love of great food and I think pretty things, but my photography skills do no justice to this sweet blog. I think someone needs to teach a photos for blogging course. While I mainly blog about things like the two little munchkins that rule my household, I also love to write about food and what I eat. Soon I hope to share with the world a recipe blog, but for now, I am happy to share with you one of our new favourite meals.

The colder weather is here and the gas is gone in our BBQ. But that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t refill it and keep enjoying the outdoor grill. So long as the weather is not too cold, rainy or (dare I say it) snowy, this is a great way to keep a little piece of summer with us.

Although the ‘queue’ is best known in our house for its delicious burgers or T-bone steaks, recently we’ve taken a liking to cooking fish on it. The results? A smokey, fresh meal that is done in 10 minutes.

Foiled Fish on the BBQ

Ingredients
Filet of white fish (1 per person), seasoned with salt and pepper
Sliced red pepper
Green beans
½ lemon, sliced
1 clove garlic, chopped
½ tomato, sliced (I hadn’t done this the first time when the picture was taken, but was happy with the results when I added it the second time)

Directions
On foil, lay fish and drizzle small amount of olive oil on it.
Add peppers to one side of the fish. Green beans to the other.
Layer tomatoes on one end of the fish. Layer lemon slices on the other half.
Sprinkle with chopped onion.
Wrap, making a pocket with the foil to prevent oil from leaking.
Put foil pocket on a pre-heated BBQ and cook for 10 minutes.
Open the pocket for a healthy, delicious meal!

image via bit of momsense

2 thoughts on “something fishy: rebecca’s guest post

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention something fishy: rebecca’s guest post « heartful mouthful -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Recipe: BBQ Fish

Leave a comment