The Best Breakfast Things

Instagram makes my food look burnt. I only just got my camera back from friends today, alas.

I’m sure it’s obvious to most people that the best things in life are the things that are both enjoyable and good for you. And yet, so many of us, so often, spend time on things that are enjoyable (but have negative consequences) or healthy or right for you (but you only do because you feel obligated). I completely see the point of breaking down and playing games on your iPhone. I get it. I do it. I’m not beyond that and I hope I never will be. Nor am I quite past the point where I will indulge in not one, or two, but three lemon squares, without thinking. And then have some plantain chips. Restrain? Pfft.

Which is what I love about these muffins. They’re the middle part of the Venn diagram of “Healthy” and “Delicious”. They’re healthy enough that Paula Deen would hate them. Oh, but they’re real food. They’re not made with margarine, or Splenda, or anything that comes from a science lab. Which I suspect is part of why they taste good and make you feel good. They also have a substantial amount of fibre, good for your guts, and filling for breakfasts.

I might have to make a second batch, they’re so good. But that’s okay; they’re also seriously easy to make.

Wheat Bran Muffins
adapted from Super Natural Everyday

2 large eggs
1 cup plain yogurt (2-3.8% M.F. is about right)
1/2 cup barely melted butter
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup unprocessed wheat bran
1 1/2 cups plain bran cereal, crushed
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 cup turbinado sugar
1 teaspoon grated orange zest
1 teaspoon baking sida
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon sea salt

Preheat the oven to 400F and place a rack in the middle of the oven. Line your muffin pan (or mini-loaf pan) with wrappers. This recipe makes 8 mini-loaves or 12 muffins (which is nice, because 1 muffin isn’t quite enough for me, but 2 muffins is too much. Mini loaves = 1 1/2 muffins)

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, yogurt, melted butter, and maple syrup. Gently mix in the bran and cereal and allow it to sit for five minutes.

Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, orange zest, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Sprinkle the dry ingredients into the wet ones and stir until just combined. Fill each of the muffin cups three-quarters of the way full.

Bake for 18 to 22 minutes (18 for muffins, 22 for large muffins or mini-loaves) until the muffins begin to brown and the tops are set. Let cool for 5 minutes in the pan before turning them out on to a wire rack and allowing them to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

