Lemon Bar Ice Cream

Lemon Bar Ice Cream

I promised, when I wrote the Dutch Baby post, that I would share the recipe for lemon bar ice cream. My husband is convinced it’s the best ice cream I have ever made. It was ice cream that was nearly a month in the making.

You see, a month ago, when I was baking up a storm for Urban Craft, I baked a batch of lemon bars that weren’t a complete failure, but that weren’t quite up to my standards of what I want to sell. I didn’t throw them out: I offered some of them up on Twitter. I ate more than my fair share. I saved some in a freezer bag, in the back of the freezer, where I would avoid eating them only end up eating two in the weeks that followed.

Fast forward to this weekend past, when we had a couple of friends over for a pizza dinner. I had promised to make lemon bar ice cream, and if there’s one area where I don’t flake on people it’s in the kitchen. So, lemon bar ice cream it was. I really have nothing more to say on the matter, aside from that it’s worth ruining a pan of lemon bars to make these. And if you’re completely incapable of ruining lemon bars, make a batch, eat half, and use the other half to make this.

Lemon Bars

Lemon Bar Ice Cream

Lemon Bar Ice Cream
Makes 1.5 litres

1 tablespoon freshly grated lemon zest
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
2 cups 18% cream
The seeds of 1/2 a vanilla bean (or 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)

1 cup chopped lemon bars (about 6 bars, depending on size). I use this recipe to make my lemon bars, but I’ll assume you know what you’re doing on that front.

In a saucepan whisk together the zest, the lemon juice, the sugar, and the eggs, whisk in 1 cup of the cream and the vanilla, and cook the mixture over moderately high heat, whisking constantly, until it just comes to a simmer.

Strain the custard through a fine sieve into a bowl, pressing hard on the zest, and chill it, covered with plastic wrap, until it is cold.

Whisk in the remaining 1 cup cream. Cover and chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours. Churn in the ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions until the consistency of soft serve. Add the lemon bar pieces and continue churning for 1 minute, until incorporated. Transfer to a container and freeze until solid, at least 1 hour.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Bar Ice Cream

    • The base of the bar is a bit chewy – like a still slightly frozen ice cream cookie. The lemon curd mixes in really well and mimics the texture of the ice cream.

Leave a Reply

