(not quite) Indian-inspired Rice Pudding

DSC_0005.JPG

We’ve entered 2012, the Year of the Dragon, the Year of Sustainable Energy (according to the UN), and the Year of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. It’s also the beginning of the year and people are starting to make their resolutions, their goals, and their purpose for the next twelve months known. I’ve started to do so, for better of worse. I’ve fallen into the trap, if you want to call it that, of resolving to be healthier this year and to end this year in a healthier body*. What struck me as interesting, if I may speak freely for a moment, was how many people on January 1 were saying that they wanted to stick to a resolution, but didn’t actually start their resolution on the first. What better a day than the first day of the new year to feel motivated and to get momentum for something that you know is going to be difficult?

Funny that I should say that, since this morning I have had trouble getting going. Even with this delightful, amazing Indian-inspired rice pudding for breakfast. I should clarify something: This isn’t really rice pudding. It’s not thick or dense or pudding like at all. It’s kind of more like a rice cereal. But, if I call it that, I’ll be reminded of Rice Krispies, the original rice cereal. And it’s not like that at all. It’s like if you had oatmeal, but made of rice. With lots of milk.

This was created largely to use up leftover basmati rice from dinner last night (Hey, I really like basmati rice, okay?). When I was younger, my family used to visit friends who made the most delicious curries and other Indian food, and I’m pretty sure that my mother couldn’t stand the curries. But, I loved the rice. It had cardamom in it and was dotted with raisins. This has that. It also has coconut, for sweetness, and cashews, for crunch and density, and mangoes, because I like mangoes. It’s a really great, quick breakfast that’s a good way to use up leftover rice, something which I come into at least twice a week. (And it discourages me from eating too much rice at dinner!)

Indian-inspired Rice Pudding
for one large breakfast serving

1/3 cup cooked basmati rice
1/2 cup frozen mango, thawed**
2 tbsp milk or dairy drink of your choice
a small handful of shredded coconut
a small handful of golden raisins***
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cardamom
1 tbsp roasted cashews

Place the first three ingredients (rice, mango, milk) into a small saucepan and heat over medium for about 5 minutes, until well combined and the mango is heated through. Add the coconut, raisins, cinnamon and cardamom and cook for another 2-3 minutes, stirring. Serve, and top with cashews.

*I am also resolving to start using proper capitalization in future posts. I’m not sure when I became so lazy, but it doesn’t have the aesthetic appeal that it once did.
**I threw the frozen mango in with the rice last night after dinner and stuck it in the fridge
***I cheated and used Thompson raisins. Speaking of which, who is Thompson and why does he have raisins named for him?

3 thoughts on “(not quite) Indian-inspired Rice Pudding

  1. From Wikipedia (so you know it’s true!):

    “The sultana grape’s American name, Thompson Seedless, named after William Thompson, a viticulturist who was an early grower in California and is sometimes credited with the variety’s introduction.”

  2. Yum.

    I have to admit that I’m not a big rice eater, unless it’s in pudding form. I like it well enough, and I’ll make it to round out a meal, but I don’t really care about it. I’m embarrassed to admit that I buy the pre-cooked freezer packs of rice from TJs rather than cook my own. So wasteful. I guess I could resolve to get better at cooking it myself.

  3. oh, that sounds really good! I used to make “cereal” from leftover brown rice, almond mil and dried cranberries. This sounds like a more sophisticated and yummier version 🙂

Leave a Reply

