guest post: andrea’s feel good soup

(this week is beyond busy for me, so i won’t be around much aside from a few pre-written posts. however, i am delighted to share with you the thoughts of some fantastic ottawa women. these ladies know a thing or two about food in the area. today, i am featuring andrea from a peek inside the fishbowl. to say that she’s a community builder is an understatement. and she has a way with words. and photos. and, apparently, soup. take it away, andrea!)

Hi there! My name is Andrea and I blog over at a peek inside the fishbowl. I’m really happy to be guestblogging here today!

I am a mom of two lovely girls – 9 and 11. As it happens, a lot of my day is spent around food. I shop for food, prepare food, eat food. I think and write about food. I enjoy food – a lot – but let’s be honest. Food can also be drudgery. This happens when I (a) feel overwhelmed by newspaper and magazine articles telling me what I should and shouldn’t be eating, and (b) when my kids won’t eat what I’ve prepared and (c) I’m stuck eating leftovers for three days because my new amazing recipe didn’t go over so well.

So when I find a great new recipe that my kids (heck, even ONE of my kids!) will enjoy it makes me pretty happy.

My new find may be an old favourite for some: it’s carrot soup. It’s comfort in a bowl. There’s something about cradling a warm bowl in cold hands, the steam coming off the top, and the hot feeling in your tummy that makes it the perfect fall food.

This recipe came in the mail the other day, printed on the back of a flyer. Clearly, it was meant to be.

Carrot soup

2 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 pound of carrots, peeled and sliced
2 medium potatoes, chopped
4 cups water or broth
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme, or a few sprigs of fresh stuff (I have copious amounts growing in my backyard)
¼ dried dill
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 ½ cups milk

Grab a large cooking pot and sauté the garlic and onion in the olive oil. Add remaining ingredients, minus the milk. Bring to a boil until the carrots are tender, about 40 minutes. Puree in small batches in the food processor and return the blended soup to the pot. Add milk and stir until heated through. Serve warm.

image via 101 cookbooks

Leave a Reply

