zucchini yogurt muffins (or, how to recover from a weekend food coma.)

the holiday weekend is always about food, friends and being outdoors. all of my lovely photos from this weekend’s feasts were taken on my film camera. meaning that you nice people will just have to wait for photos of lemon buns and skewers and cottage.

my husband and i took stock of what we ate on saturday and were embarassed to say the least. we ate breakfast out, stopped at the granary (a fantastic german restaurant) on our way to the cottage and then pigged out on hot dogs, hamburgers, salad, smartfood (which isn’t that smart), lemon buns and marshmallows. not in that order, necessarily.

so, this week will be healthy. last night, we made pasta from spelt flour, which while not gluten-free, has more nutrients than it’s wheat flour cousins. i find that i feel healthier after eating spelt bread or spelt pasta than i do after eating white or whole-wheat flour foods. we added chicken, sundried tomatos, pepperocini and mushrooms along with a touch of olive oil. it was really good, filling, and healthy.

these muffins are like that. tasty, filling, healthy. oh, and easy. you don’t need a mixer for these puppies. very easy. i wanted to make breakfast food for this week, but felt uninspired by my fridge and pantry: we didn’t have groceries and stores were closed. the following muffin possibility existed in my kitchen: zucchini.

these are nice and spicy muffins, warm spicy, pick me up spicy. moist and none too oily.

zucchini yogurt muffins
makes 12

3 cups grated fresh zucchini
2/3 cup melted unsalted butter
1/3 cup plain yogurt
1 1/3 cup sugar
2 eggs, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 teaspoons baking soda
Pinch salt
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg

preheat the oven to 350°F.
in a large bowl combine the sugar, eggs, yogurt and vanilla.
stir in the grated zucchini and then the melted butter.
sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the zucchini mixture and mix in.
in a separate bowl, mix together the flour, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
slowly combine the dry and wet ingredients, until smooth.

use a spoon to distribute the muffin dough equally among the cups, filling the cups up completely.
bake on the middle rack until muffins are golden and the top of the muffins bounce back when you press on them, about 25 to 30 minutes.

allow them to cool for another 20 minutes, lest you burn your tongue.

8 thoughts on “zucchini yogurt muffins (or, how to recover from a weekend food coma.)

  1. I made zucchini muffins with stonyfield’s yogurt years ago * from the side of the container – and they were just wonderful but can’t find the recipe on their site. it was vanilla yogurt – but… alas! I can’t find it. IF anyone has a good vanilla yogurt zuchinni muffin recipe – would you please email it to my address: jolie101415@aol.com ? Thanks.. eagerly awaiting a great recipe!!!

    • I might just fiddle around with this, though I don’t think you can get Stonyfield’s in Canada…I will let you know of future attempts.

      • Kaitlin: This recipe was on the side of their container. I looked but didn’t see an 800 number. I will keep trying Maybe yoplait has a recipe for the muffins? Whatever – I will keep looking. It was truly terrific!! I once made a chocolate zuchinni cake and it was heavenly!! But I need to use the yogurt I bought!! Guess I will try something else….unless I find this recipe! Thanks for responding. I assume you are in Canada? I am in MS. thanks!

Leave a Reply

