tortas de aceite

have you tried these? they’re called tortas de aceite or olive oil wafers, and yes, they are made with a fair amount of olive oil. but, don’t let that scare you. they’re lighter than other pastries.

they originated in andalusia, in seville specifcally. they’re comprised of wheat flour, olive oil and anise, and often other ingredients are added, such as almonds or (my favourite) crystallized sevillan orange.

i bought a package at the deli at lunch today to keep in my drawer at work. they aren’t cheap, but i figure i can justify them as an alternative to my $2 muffin habit.

One thought on “tortas de aceite

  1. I’m not going to lie, I was a little worried when I saw the title of this. In Mexico Torta can only mean a specific type of sandwich, and for a second there I thought you were eating oil sandwiches.

    Anyway, these sound interesting, I think I’ll have to see if I can find some

Leave a Reply

