Summer Succotash Salad

Untitled

Andrew & I visited the Ontario Museum of Archaeology a few weeks ago, so a recipe with its linguistic roots in the Algonquin nation seems entirely fair. I’d never made succotash before and didn’t even entirely realize that it’s what I made until after the fact. My boss made a comment about a fantastic salad of corn and hot peppers and avocadoes. So, I took that, I tweaked it, and we ate it in the park last week on a picnic.

In Toronto, you can find Hostess potato chips. This is the stuff that my husband’s childhood was made of. They don’t come in dill pickle anymore, but the barbeque is sufficient. It’s a little sweet, a little spicy, salty, and light. You don’t walk away from oil on your fingers. Hostess chips, succotash salad, and sandwiches thick with prosciutto and eggplant. And a dog who doesn’t beg when you’re picnicking. It’s shaping up to be not such a bad summer after all.

Succotash Salad

Succotash Salad
serves 4

4 ears of corn, cooked, cooled, and kernels removed
1 avocado, diced
1 fat beefsteak tomato, diced
2 zucchinis, in the colour of your choice, thinly sliced

2 tbsp. olive oil
1 clove garlic, peeled and smashed
A pinch each of dried marjoram and thyme
salt and pepper to taste