Stocking the freezer.

Stocking the freezer and fridge with baking goodness; consequently, there’s been a lot of meals in bowls of late.

Nobody tells you that when you start baking as a business – rather than for friends and family – that you will have questions. Lots of questions. Or at least, nobody told me. Also, I was not informed at the inordinate amount of thinking involved. Thank heavens for Rachel and her spreadsheet system for organizing all the things.

My big fret at the moment is how much stock will I need? It’s the type of thing that is a little bit paralysing, particularly (I suspect) the first time. I don’t know how many sales to expect per hour. I don’t know which things are going to be the most popular, the best loved, and which people are going to look at like it has a head growing from it. (Disclaimer: There are no heads growing out of anything that comes from my kitchen.) It’s also a lot of putting-oneself-out-there. Which, as someone with a bit of training in theatre, and a past that included running for political office, is something that I’m generally alright with, once I get past the stage fright. (Also paralyzing? This article, which Kelly of The Gouda Life posted, which made me think “OMG! This isn’t going to work.” And then I remembered to breathe. If it doesn’t work, that’s okay. Sort of.)

My full menu for Urban Craft will be posted as a separate page shortly, but I’m happy to provide you with a sneak peek of what you might find on my table:

Cookies
Homemade Oreos
Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies

Meltaways
(Packages of six small, truffle-like cookies)
Earl-Grey Meltaways
Lime-Coconut Meltaways

Bars
Lemon Bars with Milk Crumb Crust
Carmelized Chocolate Almond Bars

Mini Loaves
Brown Butter Banana Cardamom Chocolate Chip Loaf
Maple Carrot Loaf
Chocolate Tea Loaf

Spreads
Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread
Homemade Salted Caramel Sauce

I have my favourites, but I’m wondering, which among these appeal to you the most? I don’t know if anyone can predict a best seller, but I think it’s difficult the closer you are to the product.

4 thoughts on “Stocking the freezer.

  1. Uh… I’ll have one of everything, please! Well, except the bacon cookies but that’s not personal, I just don’t eat bacon. ;)

    If I were coming to your table and buying some of these, I’d go for homemade oreos, earl-grey meltaways, lemon bars, and homemade nutella. For some reason, I don’t buy loaves/tea breads much when I shop at bake sales. I guess I figure I am more likely to make those sorts of things than fussier sweets like lemon bars.

    Hope that helps! Goooooood luck!

  2. Yum. I would guess that the homemade oreos and the carmelized chocolate almond bars would go quickly for eating out of hand and the caramel spread will probably be a really popular gift.

    So hard to guess, though! I can see the difficulties. I personally am all over lemon bars when they are offered, but I’m one of those weird people who is only sporadically into chocolate.

Leave a Reply

